
Originally the caves were depleted limestone quarries, some from the Roman times. Burial use was established by the order of Monsieur Thiroux de Crosne, Lt. General of Police, and by Monsieur Guillaumot, Inspector General of Quarries, in 1786. At the time the Les Halles district was suffering from contamination caused by poor burials and mass graves in the churchyard cemeteries that spread disease in the area. They decided to discreetly move the bones and place them in the underground passageways.

The chamber walls are full of graffiti from the 18th century onwards. In the 19th century some families even lived there. Victor Hugo used his knowledge about the tunnel system in his novel Les Misérables. In 1871 communards killed a group of monarchists in one chamber. During World
War II, some Parisian cells of French Resistance used the tunnel system. Germans also established an underground bunker below the 14ème arrondissement for their own purposes.

Today, an eerie walk through the dark passages of the catacombs will take you past the remains of millions of Parisians, carefully stacked skull-upon-skull, and labeled by their year of burial.
Entrance to the guided tours underground is in the Montparnasse quarter. Paris Catacomb museum is in the address of 1 Place Denfert-Rochereau. It closed temporarily for renovations on November 1 2004, and will not be re-opening for visitors until May 2005.
Still, burial chambers—the only ones open to public—are only a small part of the full amount of galleries under Paris. The total amount of underground tunnels is more than 300 km.
In theory, entrance to catacombs is restricted. However, enterprising souls can enter the tunnels through certain places in the sewers or the subway system. Some have reputedly used explosives. On rare occasions drug dealers, addicts, eccentrics and those who want to keep clandestine meetings or unusual parties frequent catacombs. Most of the explorers who visit the catacombs today are adventurers or urban explorers. The most enthusiastic refer to themselves as "cataphiles". They might spend days underground. Others have hidden casks of wine or supplies in secret places.

Today, an eerie walk through the dark passages of the catacombs will take you past the remains of millions of Parisians, carefully stacked skull-upon-skull, and labeled by their year of burial.
Entrance to the guided tours underground is in the Montparnasse quarter. Paris Catacomb museum is in the address of 1 Place Denfert-Rochereau. It closed temporarily for renovations on November 1 2004, and will not be re-opening for visitors until May 2005.
Still, burial chambers—the only ones open to public—are only a small part of the full amount of galleries under Paris. The total amount of underground tunnels is more than 300 km.
In theory, entrance to catacombs is restricted. However, enterprising souls can enter the tunnels through certain places in the sewers or the subway system. Some have reputedly used explosives. On rare occasions drug dealers, addicts, eccentrics and those who want to keep clandestine meetings or unusual parties frequent catacombs. Most of the explorers who visit the catacombs today are adventurers or urban explorers. The most enthusiastic refer to themselves as "cataphiles". They might spend days underground. Others have hidden casks of wine or supplies in secret places.

In September 2004, a hidden chamber with a movie theater run by the Mexican Perforation group (a French artistic movement that seeks to express their ideas in underground places) was found by the French police in the Catacombs of Paris.
No comments:
Post a Comment